رسالة الرئيس التنفيذي

المهندس طارق بن علي العامري

الرئيس التنفيذي

وضعت شركة بيئة حجر الأساس لبناء مستقبل مستدام. وتحقيقًا لذلك، شرعت الشركة في العمل باجتهاد نحو تحقيق أهدافها الاستراتيجية. وتهدف الشركة على المدى البعيد إنشاء البنية الأساسية المستدامة فضلًا عن تحويل إدارة النفايات وتعزيز الوعي بشأن بناء مستقبل مستدام.

ومن بين الأهداف الرئيسية لاستراتيجية الشركة الدخول في شراكة مع القطاع الخاص لتقديم خدمات إدارة النفايات ضمن جهود التعاون المشتركة التي تسعى إلى المحافظة على البيئة العُمانية. وتحقيقًا لذلك، طرحت شركة بيئة مناقصات خلال عام 2015 لتقديم خدمات إدارة النفايات وتم إسناد مناقصات لتنفيذ بعض الأعمال في عدد من المناطق.

وفي ضوء الوضع الاقتصادي الحالي ، وجب على شركة بيئة تمديد جدولها الزمني الأولي مع ضمان استمرارية العمل من أجل تحقيق هدفها المتمثل في الإنتهاء من تأسيس البنية الأساسية بحلول منتصف عام 2017. كما ستُواصل الشركة الاستحواذ على قطاع إدارة النفايات بحسب جاهزية البنية الأساسية نظرًا لأهمية إدارة النفايات والحاجة إلى توفير مستوى متقدم من الخدمة.
 

كانت سنة 2015 محفوفة بالإنجازات التي كُللت بالنجاح لشركة بيئة فيما يتعلق بتطوير القطاع. حيث انتهت الشركة ضمن قطاع النفايات البلدية من بناء عدد من المراد الهندسية والمحطات التحويلية، كما تقوم الشركة حاليًا بتفيذ أنشطة أخرى مماثلة والتي وصل الإنجاز فيها إلى مراحله النهائية. كما قامت الشركة بطرح مناقصات لبناء مزيد من المرادم الهندسية والمحطات التحويلية، وإسناد تنفيذها لشركات متخصصة. أما فيما يخص النفايات الخطرة، فتعمل الشركة على تسريع عملية بناء منشآت المعالجة والتي ستمكن الشركة بدورها من تقديم الخدمات المتكاملة وفقًا للمعايير البيئية الدولية. وسيتم الانتهاء من تنفيذ محطة معالجة النفايات الصحية في منطقة ثمريت خلال الربع الثاني من سنة 2016، حيث قامت الشركة بالفعل بترسية عقد تنفيذ العمل ولمدة 5 سنوات على شركتين لجمع النفايات الصحية ونقلها ومعالجتها والتصرف فيها. وطُرحت المناقصات وفقًا للخطة المحددة لضمان قدرة منطقة الدقم الحرة على التعامل مع النفايات الصناعية الحالية التي تنتجها هذه المنطقة ومعالجتها. وتشمل بعض الإنجازات الأخرى إطلاق خدمات الشركة لإدارة النفايات في محافظتين، والانتهاء من توسيع منشآت معالجة النفايات الصحية في منطقة الملتقى بولاية صحار من خلال تركيب نظام إضافي للتعقيم بالبخار المضغوط (الأوتوكلاف)، الذي يُعد الأول من نوعه في السلطنة؛ مما يضاعف كمية النفايات المعالجة من 5 طن في اليوم إلى 10 طن.

وضعت شركة بيئة استراتيجية طموحة لتقليل كمية النفايات التي تذهب إلى المرادم الهندسية بمعدل تحويل قدره 60%، ومن المؤمل أن يصل إلى 80% بحلول عام 2030. وتركز هذه الاستراتيجية على دعم الاقتصاد العُماني من خلال تقديم خطابات عدم ممانعة إلى مؤسسات القطاع الخاص التي تسعى إلى جمع النفايات التي يمكن بعد ذلك إعادة تدويرها ومعالجتها مثل نفايات البناء والهدم، والإطارات منتهية الصلاحية، وبطاريات حمض الرصاص، ومعدات النفايات الكهربائية والإلكترونية.

تتعاون شركة بيئة مع وزارة البيئة والشؤون المناخية على مراجعة القوانين واللوائح الحالية لإدارة النفايات والعمل على وضع إطار جديد لأنظمة إدارة النفايات وفقً رؤية الحكومة لهذا القطاع. كما تعمل الشركة على إنشاء "مركز التميّز" للاستفادة من خبراته في إدارة النفايات وأن يكون مركزًا رائدًا من خلال وضع خطة متكاملة لمعالجة جميع المسائل المتعلقة بإدارة النفايات في منطقة الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. وإلى جانب ذلك، قامت الشركة بمراجعة عمليتها الداخلية الرئيسية وتعزيزها وتنفيذ عدة حملات نظافة في شمال وجنوب محافظات الباطنة وظفار، كما شاركت في مختلف مؤتمرات إدارة النفايات ودعمت مؤتمر عُمان للبيئة والذي شارك فيه 160 شخصًا من مختلف المنظمات والمؤسسات.

وفي الوقت الذي كانت تشيّد فيه شركة بيئة البنية الأساسية المستدامة للمستقبل، كانت تبحث عن تطبيق أفضل السبل لتحقيق قيمة مضافة للبلد. وفي هذا الصدد، شرعت شركة بيئة في تنفيذ برامج تدريب مختلفة لتطوير المواهب العُمانية الشابة وتوفير فرص للمشاريع الصغيرة والمتوسطة والمستثمرين.

وقد واجهت الشركة تحديات استثنائية بسبب القيود المالية الذي دفع الحكومة إلى اتخاذ تدابير لتخفيض الميزانيات في الكثير من القطاعات. ومع ذلك، كان دعم الحكومة سخيًا وسعت جاهدةً إلى ضمان استمرارية الخطط بالرغم من الوضع الاقتصادي غير المواتي. ولهذا، اتخذت شركة بيئة تدابير معينة دون التأثير على التزاماتها بالجدول الزمني للاستحواذ على خدمات القطاع، وكانت تبحث عن طرق مبتكرة للحفاظ على المسار الصحيح نحو إيجاد نظام متكامل لإدارة النفايات.

بالشراكة مع الحكومة والقطاع الخاص والمواطنين، تلتزم شركة بيئة بإنشاء نظام إدارة نفايات بيئي سيُساهم في دعم الوطن والمواطن، وسيكون بمثابة مَعْلم مُهم في المنطقة.

CEO's Message

Eng. Tariq Al Amri

Chief Executive Officer

be'ah has been laying the foundation towards building a sustainable future. Towards this, be'ah has been working assiduously pursing the company's strategic goals. The long-term objective being to create an infrastructure which is sustainable, transforming waste management and driving a conscious habit to nurture a sustainable future.

One of the key agenda's in accordance with the company strategy was to partner with the private sector in providing waste management services in order to collaborate towards joint responsibility in conserving Oman's environment. In order to achieve this be'’ah floated tenders during 2015 for the provision of waste management services and awarded operations tenders for some regions.

In the backdrop of the economic downturn due to the fluctuating oil prices, be'ah had to extend its initial timeline while continuing to work towards its target in completing the infrastructure by mid-2017. Additionally, the company will also continue taking over the waste management sector as per the readiness of the infrastructure due to the importance of waste management and the need to provide higher level of service.
 

be'ah had a successful year with its various accomplishments in 2015 with regard to sector development. Within the Municipal Waste Sector, be'’ah completed the construction of a few engineered landfills, transfer stations and is currently in the final stages of completing others. Furthermore, the tenders to construct more engineered landfills and transfer station were floated and awarded within the same year. As for Hazardous Waste, be’'ah is working towards expediting the establishment of the treatment facilities, which will enable be’'ah in providing integrated services as per international environmental standards. The healthcare waste treatment facility in Thumrait will also be completed during the second quarter of 2016 where the company has already awarded the operations contract for 5 years to two companies for collection, transportation, treatment and disposal of healthcare waste. Tenders have been floated in accordance with the established plan to ensure that ability of Duqum Free Zone to handle and treat the current industrial waste generated from the area. Some of the other accomplishments includes the launch of its waste management services in two governorates. The completion of the expansion of the healthcare waste treatment facilities in Al-Multaqa by installing an additional system; the Autoclave; which is the first of its kind in the Sultanate doubling the amount of treated waste from 5 tons a day to 10 tons a day.

be'ah has set an ambitious target to reduce amount of waste going into landfills by diversion rate of 60% moving towards 80% by 2030. This strategy focused on supporting Oman’s economy by providing no objection letters to the private sector initiatives for collecting and processing waste which can then by recycled such as construction and demolition waste (C&D), end of life tyres (ELT), lead acid batteries (LAB) and waste electric and electronic equipment (WEEE).

be’'ah has been collaborating with Ministry of Environment and Climate Affairs (MECA), to review the current laws and regulations for waste management and work towards establishing a new framework of regulations for waste management as per the Government’s vision for this sector.

be'ah is also working towards setting up the “Center of Excellence” to utilize its expertise in waste management and become the pioneers with an integrated plan tackling all aspects of waste management in MENA region. This apart, be'’ah reviewed and enhanced its main internal process and also carried out various clean up campaigns in North and South Al-Batinah Governorates and Dhofar. Additionally, be'’ah has participated in various waste management conferences and endorsed OmanEco conference where 160 participants from difference organizations participated.

While building the infrastructure for a sustainable future, be'’ah has been looking at ways to add in-country value. With regard to this, be’'ah has initiated various training programs to develop young Omani talent and also provide opportunities to local SMEs and investors.

be’'ah faced extraordinary challenges due to financial constraints caused by declining oil prices which led the government to take measures to cut budgets across many sectors. However, the government has been extremely supportive and has been working in tandem to ensure plans move forward in spite of the challenging economic scenario. Owing to this, be'’ah took certain measures without impacting its commitments toward sector take-over timelines and has been looking at innovative ways to stay on course towards building the integrated waste management system.

Partnering with the government, private sector and citizens, be’'ah is committed to creating a waste management eco-system which will contribute to the nation, its people and serve as a benchmark in the region.